“Create something great. Also make things that suck and learn from them.”

It’s funny how sometimes the things we love most are the hardest to do. That can be especially true of artists. For whatever reason it is suddenly difficult to create, and while waiting for inspiration we get distracted. Or we wait for inspiration for so long that we no longer feel that we can be inspired. Both of these are issues that I struggle with, especially the second one. If I go too long without creating something, I second guess any urge I have when I should just act on it, for better or worse.

Sometimes, too, it is because we get bogged down by using our creative skills for other reasons. Work does this to me. I write and research all day long, and then when I have the time to write what truly matters to me, I feel tired and restless and want nothing more than to do something, anything else. In my two and a half months of blog silence, many lovely plans has gone to waste because of this.

It’s a difficult balance to strike, but ultimately it comes down to deciding what is really important.

I must remember that my creations are important.

I must remember that creating is one of the best things that I can do for myself.

I must remember that creating is a huge part of who I am and who I want to be.

I must remember that I am important.

I guess you could say that these are my extremely belated New Year’s resolutions. I’ve been working on these ideas, though they were not yet articulated, since the beginning of the year, mostly trying to change my mindset. It’s slowly working, as evidenced by the existence of this post, but it is time for me to be more proactive about it. Which will include writing even when I do not know what I want to say.

I had no idea that this post would end up being what it is when I started it.

I have to let the process of creating inspire me and not wait for something that may never come to strike out of the blue. I have to inspire myself.

I am not going to make any lofty statements about starting a specific schedule for my posts — I already have that for work — but I will try to always share when I have something to talk about, rather than allowing myself to think it is not good enough to publish, or not the right time, or whatever other ridiculous excuse the evil parts of my brain try to throw at me.

Thanks to those of you who read the blog and my awesome followers who were hooked when the posts were as thick as thieves but still came back to read this post after my long silence. I hope you all keep coming back. I’ll do my best to have something new for you when you do :)

<3
DH

2 comments
    • Danielle said:

      It is a funny thing, but that really is how it works! I just need to stop faling into the same trap… this is not a new discovery for me. We are our own life long projects :)

      Good luck with your new blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

