Found Photo Friday: Termites

My oh my, have I been a busy bee this week. New job, new gallery critique, new photo projects… Is Danielle hanging by a thread? Possibly. I did forget that yesterday was Thursday and so almost forgot about today’s FPF. But I didn’t! So here it is:

This is a termite-eaten paperback copy of Foucault’s Pendulum. Rosamond Purcell captures images of everyday items that are somehow damaged or shown in an unfamiliar way. Whether a book eaten by bugs, a squished doll, or an object viewed from odd angles, Purcell shoots things not because they are beautiful, but because they interest her.

I find this image to beautiful in a sad sort of way. I have an intense love of books and it pains me to see them forgotten or misused, but the patterns that the hungry little termites have created in the pages and among the words are beautiful, a bit like a three dimensional topographical map, and it is a unique and interesting thing to see.

Here is a link to an interview with Rosamond Purcell in which she shares a bit about her process and motivations. Take a peek and then let me know what you think: Are images of decay beautiful? Do you think they are worth documenting? Why would decay make an ordinary object more interesting?

I can’t wait to see what you have to say! Have a beautiful weekend, everyone!

-DH

Leave a Reply

